Month: March 2014

  • walking and leaping -- a most unexpected Plot Twist

    The Littlest Man and I _understand_ each other.

    We have Tickle Wars.

    We watch vintage cartoons on my phone while everyone else rushes about.

    We both love to sing songs from Donut Man Club.

    One of the current favorites isĀ  "Walking and Leaping"

    Peter and John went to pray,

    they met a Lame Man on the way.

    He asked for alms,

    And held out his palms and this is what Peter did say:

    Silver and Gold have I none, but such as I have give I thee:

    In the Name of Jesus Christ of Nazereth RISE UP and WALK!

    He went walking and leaping and praising God,

    Walking and leaping and praising God -- In the Name of Jesus Christ of Nazereth RISE UP and WALK!

    Of course, for the full effect, you must do ALL the motions,

    most especially the 'walking and leaping.'

    I came home one evening, tired and worn and almost sick.

    But there had been three snow days and the Littlest Man was raring to go with pent up 4 year old energy.

    "Lisbeth! Lisbeth! Let's SING!! PETER AND JOHN!!"

    How can one say no?

    "Ok. I'll lay here on the couch -- I'll sing. You do the motions."

    So we began:

    "Peter and John went to pray...."

    and then

    "He went WALKING! and LEAPING! and PRAISING GOD!"

    Around the coffee table, over the Legos and airplanes, and amid the Crazy Kitten trying to join in, the Littlest Man walked and leaped and leaped some more.

    And then we sang it again. And again. And again.

    In the middle of the 6th time, it was almost as if I heard Him whisper,

    "I'm in the Healing Business, remember? That's what I do."

    _WALKING and LEAPING and PRAISING GOD!!_

    "Yes, Father. I just needed to remember."

    The Lame Man had no hope, he was doomed for life, he was Forever Broken.

    Then the Healer came.

    Here's to Forever Broken, Plot Twists... and Beautiful Stories.

  • because Love isn't just for Valentine's Day

    Just as Christmas can't be crammed into one day a year,

    Love is even less able to fit into a day of the year.

    So we're spreading it out.

    Twenty-Three things That Love Is